Some book reviews

From the Mouth of the WhaleFrom the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So what can I say about this book. I bought it on a book sale earlier this year and just recently read it. I loved the cover and the description of the book seemed great. I have to say that From the Mouth of the Whale was nothing at all what I expected it to be. I had imagined it to be an interesting adventure story about this intelligent Jonas Palmasson. The characters were very interesting, but there was not a lot going on in the story. I remember when I was in school and we got to read these old texts from Iceland, and I thought they were really different because they only explained what was physically happening, not describing any thoughts or feelings of the characters. This book however was the complete opposite of the old Icelandic tales I had to read in school. Most part of this book was just Jonas thinking and describing old events. It was interesting, but at the same time a bit frustrating since it felt like the book never really started. Like that feeling when you are having a conversation with someone and they just keep getting off track and never get to that important thing they had to tell you.
I still enjoyed the book, and it felt easy to read it, but I don’t think I would ever recommended it to someone.

View all my reviews






Vanish (Rizzoli & Isles, #5)Vanish by Tess Gerritsen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Vanish by Tess Gerritsen is the 5th book in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This is my absolute favourite tv show and these books are on my favourite list as well. The book series in my opinion has been going a bit up and down, with some books a little bit better than others. This one is by far the best one yet. Jane Rizzoli as nine month pregnant and still kicking ads, who can’t love that?

Spoilers might follow.
This book was just so exciting and interesting, I could barely put it down once I have started it. The action packed adrenaline ride starts out with Maura finding a living “corps” in the morgue, and the poor woman is sent directly to the hospital. When Maura later on is going to visit this unknown woman, Jane Doe, it sets off a hostage drama. Jane Doe manage to kill (what later turn out to be a fake) security guard, and lock herself in a wing of the hospital together with 6 hostages, including a Jane Rizzoli in the middle of labour.
While this is going on we get to learn the tragic story of Mila who came to America hoping to get a job, but instead became a sex slave in a brothel for very rich important men. Mila and her friend Olena witness how all of the other girls in the brothel including the brothel mother are killed by two men in black suits. the two young women manage to escape and find help by the conspiracy obsessed Joe Roke.

Lots of spoilers coming now.
Us readers learn that the hostage taker is Olena, and in disguise Joe manage to walk past the police barrier and join her and the hostages in the hospital. The FBI steps in and break in and shoot both Olena and Joe to death, even though they had already put sleep gas in the hospital wing.
When Maura gets there the fibbies are about to take the bodies away before the crime scene unit has even inspected the scene. Dr. Isles challenge them and get the bodies back to her morgue, but she has not finished the autopsy before the bodies get confiscated by the FBI.
Everything is really suspicious and all of our good guy characters feel it too. Even though I have already written so many spoilers I will not spoil the ending.

This is the reason I liked this book more than all of the previous ones. The adrenaline is pumping throughout, and the conspiracies and corruption is something extra. I had so many feelings while reading this, anger, frustration, fear, anxiety, relief, happiness, sadness, disgust. The list just keeps going on. Vanish was an amazing book, and I know sometime in the future I will have to read this book again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

