Kindle update – Apps outside the US

As I wrote in the previous Kindle Fire HD post you can’t get apps from the Amazon App Store if you live outside the US. Which is pretty lame since Kindles seems to be quite widely spread. In the other post I described how you could sideload Android apps, but today I realised how easy it is to get access to the Amazon apps.

All you have to do is go to Amazon’s webpage and go to “Manage my Kindle”, navigate to “Country settings” and change your address to an American address! You might have to check up on the zip codes and such to get it right, but I faked the name and the phone number, and I now live in Pasadena, CA 🙂

I guess you have to turn off the “Location-Based Services” before you change the address, but this is just a guessing and I’m not sure. (Though it seems pretty logical).

And now I can access the video store as well, before when I clicked “videos” I just got to the ones I had imported from my computer. But now I can rent or buy films and TV shows from the Amazon store, which is awesome!

Though if you usually buy physical things from Amazon this might be a problem since you need your real shipping address. I on the other hand have been denied all the things I’ve tried to buy because apparently they don’t ship those items to Sweden, so this fake address works great for me, at least for now!

4 thoughts on “Kindle update – Apps outside the US”

    1. Haha, I was talking to my brother about it and he just found a yt video of how to do it. I was sure I had tried it before, but apparently I hadn’t since it worked.
      I’m suer excited though and everything feels awesome 😀

  1. My partner and I absolutely lkve your blog and find nearly
    all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating
    on a few of tthe subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome blog!

    1. I appreciate your kind words, and I would consider to let people guest write on y blog.
      Could you tell me a bit more what you would like to write about, and if I may ask why?

Leave a Reply

