Just read – The Last Adventure of Dr. Yngve Hogalum

The Last Adventure of Dr. Yngve Hogalum (The Magnetron Chronicles, #1)The Last Adventure of Dr. Yngve Hogalum by D.L. Mackenzie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a truly entertaining book. When I think back it was quite eventless and very short, it feels more like the first part of a longer book. I still enjoyed it.
A pleasant, short book in a true steampunk spirit! The best thing about this book in my opinion was the very sophisticated language. I got this book from the Kindle store, and on my Kindle Fire HD I can easily get explanations for advanced words(from the built in dictionary). As a non-native English speaker I think this is a superb way of improving my vocabulary!

The book had some interesting characters, but I wish that they had been better introduced, since you only remember 2 or 3 of them. This might cause a problem later on when they bring up something about a character and you can’t remember which one he was and you have to go back. It was cool though that one of the characters actually swore in Swedish. But that was confusing as well, since he was Anton, but they spoke of some other Swede namned Anders. So was a bit lost.

Other than that, I think this was a great little book, and I’m going to read the rest of the serie.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

